A Mass Update!

I haven’t posted in a while, I know. Bad, bad writer!

Honestly, there’s a good reason. Unfortunately, three weeks ago we lost our eldest cat, Bubbles (Mr Bubbles, to give him his formal title. Bubsy for those more casual, lazing-around-the-lounge moments) very suddenly. It was an awful, awful moment that I won’t go into detail about because it’s still very painful and I don’t want to upset anyone who might read this. Suffice to say it happened right in front of me and I’ll be haunted by it for a very long time. We knew it was coming, as he was diagnosed with advanced ‘hypertrophic cardiomyopathy’ (heart failure) in June last year. The cocktail of medications he was on meant that he kept going for a good nine extra months and he was very happy and comfortable right up until the last moment. The heart attack was almost inevitable.

Want to see how gorgeous our beautiful boy was? Sure you do…

IMG_3351

And he had THE BEST tail I’ve ever seen!

IMG_3742

A proper squirrel-tail that was.

Anyway, if you’re a pet lover then you’ll understand the delay in posting. I maintain that grief is the worst of all the emotions. You can’t repress it, you can’t overcome it with meditation or drugs. All any of us can do it bear it out and let time do its work. Eventually, it becomes like an ulcer – if you don’t poke it, you start to forget a little that it’s there.

Moving on from the sadness, I’ve been burying my head in HUGE amounts of uni work. I was hoping to share with you some of the poetry from my last assignment but almost a month after I handed it in, it’s still not marked. Turns out my tutor has an exam this week himself so I can’t be too upset with him over it. But rest-assured, some slightly cringy poetry is coming your way very soon!

In other news, The Husband and I are working on a plan to go on holiday this year. If we manage it, it’ll be the first time in four years. The last holiday was to Madeira with my sister and brother-in-law and it was AMAZING. Okay, partly because Happy Hour cocktails were cheap and delicious so we spent an hour every single afternoon for a week quite, quite drunk. But also because Madeira is gorgeous, with lots to see, the weather was hot, the breakfasts were enough to fill you up until dinner and the apartment had every luxury you could imagine. So this year’s holiday has a lot to live up to! Thankfully, I’m calling in the help of a travel expert for a few hints and tips. We’ll see how we get on.

That’s all for now. Sorry, it’s a little bit of a dull one, rattled off in a few moments of after-study brain fog, but please bear with me and I’ll endeavour to come up with something more exciting soon.

Until next time…

A Mass Update!

2 thoughts on “A Mass Update!

  1. heather090702 says:

    I’m so very sorry about Bubbles. I know how much you loved him and if I know, then he certainly knows! He was quite lucky to have had you for family. I know the heartache all too well. It does fade. Sometimes I think of my sweet Toby and I cry a bit and other times, I smile at the precious memories I am lucky to have. Hugs to you, my friend.

    Also, I am supremely jealous of your holiday!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Heather. It was a horrible time. Bless you, and hugs back. It’s a terrible thing for anyone to go through. Husband has taken it harder. I’ve lost dozens of pets over the years (we had 20 cats at one point when I was growing up – it was a big house) but he’s never lost anyone or anything before. Almost at the point where he’s ready for a kitten now though. :0)

      Like

Leave a Reply

